Welcome to CharlieEdwards.wordpress.com

It was Aristotle who said: “We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.” You are not born great, but you sure as hell can die great. It is that ethos in which I write; I do not expect the world to turn perfect, but if I want better for myself and my world, then to sweep my side of the street clean is a good start.

I am a Conservative. I believe it is the person who should decide how free they want to be and how high they want to aim. I believe in a small state, which puts individual freedom, security and responsibility at its head. I believe in meritocracy, where those who want to succeed have the opportunity to do so, regardless of nothing else but drive and determination. I do not believe in a strong state, but a savvy state, not a small state, but a smart state. For too long people have been allowed to get away with murder on a public payroll. It is imperative that I have a right as a citizen to ask for it back. There is a way in which the state can give back to society; not through throwing money around but through actual projects, to inspire and enpower the next generation.

That is my political belief. If you think it’s propaganda from a Tory douchebag, fine. But my blogs and tweets are independent from the Conservative Party and Political Promise.

I’ve started and I will be ending with a quote, I’m afraid. Margaret Thatcher of all people: “It pays to know the enemy, not least because at some time you may have the opportunity to turn him into a friend.

Enjoy reading.

Leave a Reply

